make our journey seem more real

1591

Today in France, we are packing our bags for the beach. Ben and I, along with my sister and brother-in-law are catching a 7 a.m. train to Normandy to visit the D-Day beaches, Ben’s one itinerary request for our entire four-week French escapade. I visited the beaches in college when I studied abroad in France, and it was one of the most powerful experiences of my life. I’m eager to revisit this solemn place and see if, and how, it will touch me this time Speed dating.

Having my sister here makes this experience even more special. She is one of my best friends, and I know that being able to relive memories with her later on will (at some point) make our journey seem more real Trade resources.

Travels to France are certainly not our first foray into the unknown together. As soon as Elizabeth was old enough to see over the top of a card table, we opened our first lemonade stand. My dad insisted that we price ourselves below the neighborhood competition, and my mom (the ultimate hostess) found us an attractive pitcher for serving. Our lemonade business was destined for success.

To this day, lemonade is still one of my favorite drinks for a summer day, whether I am at the beach or hosting a party for a group of friends. Forget the fussy cocktails—one of my favorite ways to entertain in the summer is to set out a pitcher of freshly squeezed lemonade, along with a few different flavors of simple syrup and some “grown-up” mix-ins (ahem, vodka.) Guests go crazy over mixing their own custom lemonades, and I get to leisurely sip my own, instead of playing bartender HKUE ENG!

Leave a Reply

