the other Nutella-lovers out there

848

I pride myself on remembering certain key dates. I remember the birthdays of loved ones, I remember special anniversaries and I remember those handful of important “dates” in my life – those days that for one reason or another I will never forget.

How is it, then, that I missed World Nutella Day on February 5, 2013 (… by the way, thank you Sara of Ms. Adventures in Italy and Michelle of Bleeding Espresso for creating this worth event …)?

What’s particularly irksome about this is that just a few weeks ago I was staring into an almost-empty jar of Nutella and thinking, “Hey … isn’t World Nutella Day around the corner?”

All I can do is apologize to my family, my friends, the amazing people that make Nutella and all the other Nutella-lovers out there.

Truly. I am so sorry.

Throughout the year, I will often muse about what recipe to trot out for the next World Nutella Day. Leading up to 2013′s event I had a number of ideas: Nutella Crostata, Nutella Mousse, Nutella Ice Cream and so on and so forth.

In the end, though, I decided on marrying the enduring suaveness and intensity of Nutella with the solid, always-reliable workhouse of cookies: the chocolate chip cookie.

I had the idea for a Nutella Chocolate Chip cookie as I flipped through a copy of Sarah Copeland’s The Newlywed Cookbook: Fresh Ideas and Modern Recipes for Cooking With and for Each Other.

Lest I lead anyone astray, I am not a newlywed (not even wed) but a girl can dream over her jar of Nutella, can’t she?

But back to my story. I was flipping through a copy of this lovely book and came across a recipe for Thousand-Layer Chocolate Chip Cookies. The recipe is accompanied by a full-page spread of photos that show the technique of layering the cookie dough to create the “thousand layers” (hint: it’s not really a thousand layers but who’s really gonna count?).

Leave a Reply

